Case study: Using group risk stats with corporate clients

clock • 4 min read

I am a group risk consultant. GRID has published industry claim statistics that show the types and amounts of claim, as well as showing group risk claim payout rates for the first time. Can I use these with my corporate clients? If so, how, and what kind of queries can I expect off the back of them?

kmKatharine Moxham, GRID 

We've pre-empted queries by publishing our claims statistics on the group risk market. No one has asked for this information, whether it's been an intermediary, insurer or regulatory body.

We published it in the true spirit of transparency. I think there's a clear trend in the individual market towards looking at the figures in this way, and we have published our statistics in advance of such demand.

If I were an intermediary looking to use these statistics with clients, I would perhaps focus on the cause of claim. I would look at what we've paid out in terms of the highest being cancer and the second highest being heart attacks.

There is no change at all compared with last year on that. I would bring home the value of cancer cover and looking at it as a way of supplementing cancer cover under private medical insurance.

This is a big thing for PMI schemes with the cost of cancer drugs, and you could use critical illness to supplement in terms of providing greater access to that sort of cover.

This is the first time that cancer has been the main cause of claim under all three benefits - group income protection, group CI and group life cover. In the past typically it has been mental illness and musculoskeletal claims under group IP, so this is the first time we have seen cancer as the major cause of claim under group IP. It really brings home what a major cause of claim cancer is.

david-williamshigh-resDavid Williams, Friends Life